Ends on

There are no entry fees for the 2024 Barlett and Steele Awards.

Applications will be accepted only online and from editors or the contest coordinator designated by your news organization. Freelance entries may be submitted by freelancers, but a letter from an editor is still required. 

Award Categories

The Awards now have two categories: one for news organizations with a national or global audience and/or a newsroom with more than 100 editorial staff, and the other for organizations with a regional or local focus and/or a newsroom with 100 or fewer journalists. Each category will have a Gold, Silver, and Bronze winner. Gold awards come with a cash prize of US$3,000, Sliver with US$2,000, and Bronze with US$1,000.

Barlett & Steele Award for Outstanding Young Journalist: This award will recognize the work of a journalist under 35 years of age who demonstrates outstanding ability in investigative business reporting. One award will be given each year, and it will carry a US$3,000 cash prize.

Applicants must submit:

  • Either active links or PDFs of published work. Any links behind paywalls must include instructions on how they can be accessed by judges.
  • No more than three works of journalism (articles, videos, podcasts, etc.). Videos and podcasts should be no longer than 20 minutes each. All materials must be in English, or have an English-language translation/captions. 
  • Nomination letter that addresses any obstacles encountered in reporting, any reforms or impact as a result of publication, and any corrections or challenges to accuracy. For the Young Journalist Award, the nomination should include relevant biographical details of the nominee.
  • Contact information for the editor or director submitting the entry.

Entries for the 2024 award must have originally been published or broadcast between July 1st, 2023 and June 30th, 2024. Each media outlet may submit no more than two entries per category (two for either the national or regional category and two for outstanding young journalist, for a total of four entries max per media outlet). 

Winners will be announced in October 2024 with an award ceremony to be held in November in downtown Phoenix.

Application deadline: July 31, 2024

If you have any questions or have a problem with this form please contact reynoldscenter@gmail.com.

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.